FHA Loans In A Nutshell

Dated: 05/14/2017

Views: 133

FHA loans are a great help to many first time home buyers. By offering mortgages with far lower down payments, the FHA loan is an amazing route to consider when buying. While this is a benefit for many, recent changes in the approval policay may have put the loans just out of reach for some future homeowners with less than favorable credit history.

The breakdown:

FICO Scores  (Image Credit: https://www.fha.com/fha_credit_requirements) 

Applicants with a credit score of 580 or higher can qualify for the low down payment advantage and may only be required to bring 3.5% down. Those with a lower credit score than 580 are not excluded from the FHA loan eligibility, however they will have to bring 10% down payment if they want to qualify for the loan.  

So those of you planning to purchase a home with a slightly lower credit score, you may want to consider the pros and cons of having to put down a larger down payment or using the funds to first improve your credit score.

Why FHA Loans?

FHA loans are popular because homeowners that use them are able to utilize the benefits and protections which FHA loans provide which are unavailable with other traditional mortgage loans. Loans through the FHA are government insured so lenders are generally more lenient. A few of benefits you can expect with an FHA loan are as follows:

  • Easier to QualifyWhile most loans exclude applicants with questionable credit history and low credit scores, the FHA makes loans available with lower requirements so its easier for you to qualify.

  • Competitive Interest RatesYou've heard the horror stories of subprime borrowers who couldn't keep up with their mortgage interest rates. Well, FHA loans usually offer lower interest rates to help homeowners afford housing payments.

  • Lower FeesIn addition to lower interest rates, you can also enjoy lower costs on other fees like closing costs, mortgage insurance and others.

  • Bankruptcy / ForeclosureJust because you've filed for bankruptcy or suffered a foreclosure in the past few years doesn't mean you're excluded from qualifying for an FHA loan. As long as you meet other requirements that satisfy the FHA, such as re-establishment of good credit, solid payment history, etc., you can still qualify.

  • No CreditThe FHA usually requires two lines of credit for qualifying applicants. If you don't have a sufficient credit history, you can try to qualify through a substitute form.

            (Credit: https://www.fha.com/fha_credit_requirements)

For many buyers, using the FHA loan program can truly make all the difference between owning your dream home comfortably, or entering into a financial disaster. The FHA provides a wealth of other benefits for those who qualify so make sure to research them and take full advantage of them when you buy your new home!Image title

Blog author image

Sheryll White

As a Full Time real estate agent for the past 23 years, Sheryll has helped hundreds of home owners in Colorado buy and sell their homes. Sheryll's easy going, no pressure style and her in depth knowl....

Want to Advertise on this Site?

Latest Blog Posts

Denver Open Houses This Weekend Under 500K

OPEN HOUSES IN DENVER THIS WEEKEND#OPENHOUSEDENVERHere is a list of all Open Houses from the MLS this weekend. Feel free to check out our Featured home too! Location for the featured PropertyBe Sure

Read More

Beautiful Centennial Home Is Ready For You

20778 E Maplewood Lane - $520,0004 Bedrooms / 3 Bathrooms / 2 Car GarageWelcome home to Greenfield! Voted in 2017 as one of the best neighborhoods in the Denver Metro area w/ a top 500 nationwide

Read More

Coming Soon 4bed 2bath Under 275k In Denver

Coming Soon!!!!580 Bountiful Ct, Denver, CO 80221Listed by Kevin Fletcher -  Exit Realty Cherry Creek.Price $275,000See ZILLOW Listing Here For more info4 beds 2 baths 1,558,

Read More

Denver Construction Shows No Signs Of Slowing

This is a great article around the construction boom we've all seen.  Be sure to click the link at the bottom and check out the map of proposed development downtown...Development boom:

Read More